So here she is in her party dress, complete with her hip little sneakers and her snoball necklace. But when we got there, she was asked to don her favorite Disney dress (minnie mouse, of course!) and then she proceeded to partake in 2 hours of highly scheduled girlie activities, including makeup application, fashion show, karaoke, and painting fingernails. Oh oh lawd.
I can't say she loved it, she was just coming down with the virus Kai had and she mostly looked shell shocked, as you'll see.
And this all brings me to this conflict in raising a daughter. She sees me applying my mascara and blush in the car..."Why you doin' that, mom?" (The littlest things she says crack me up. She always calls me mom, incessantly..."Mom. Mom. Mom. Mom. What you doin'?") I don't know if the way she talks is the result of learning to speak in the south or just her own little eccentricity. But I love it.)
Anyway, why AM I doing that? It makes me feel better. Why? At what point will it be OK that making herself up makes her feel better? And who is she making herself up for? Ah the brain battles. This all crossed my mind the split second I found out I was pregnant with my girl.
Anyway, buzz kill strikes again. But we had fun, and Kai and Nate had fun while we were at the party, piano lesson and Bogue Falaya and swimming at Franco's.
No comments:
Post a Comment